Though Dr. Gary Chapman penned his book, “The 5 Love Languages,” way back in 1992, almost 3 decades later, it is just as relevant. Dr. Chapman spent years studying the couples he was counseling when he finally recognized a pattern. 

He concluded that each individual had different ways of both receiving as well as conveying love and affection. He found that misunderstandings between couples often arose due to differences in their ‘love languages.’ 

After taking detailed notes and analyzing them, Dr. Chapman identified 5 love languages that people engage in. But, firstly, what exactly are love languages?

What are Love Languages?

The five love languages describe how people receive and express love in relationships. Knowing your partner’s love language and communicating it to them may make you both feel cherished and valued. 

Following are the 5 love languages that Dr. Chapman came up with:

1. Words of Affirmation

When someone’s primary love language is words of affirmation, they like kind words and encouragement as well as uplifting quotes, love notes, and cute text messages.
Words of affirmation is all about expressing your love and appreciation through spoken words and praises. Complimenting people whose primary love language is words of appreciation is the way to go.

2. Quality Time

If a person’s love language is quality time, they feel loved if you are present and focused on them. This love language expresses love and devotion for someone by giving them your full attention.

It is important to put down your phone, turn off the tablet, make eye contact, and listen actively.

3. Physical Touch

A person with physical touch as primary love language would simply want to be close to their partner physically. They feel loved through physical affection, like holding hands, cuddling, or touching their arm.

4. Acts of Service

If your partner’s primary love language is acts of service, then they feel loved when someone does nice things for them. Usually, this involves doing their chores for them (especially if they don’t like doing something in particular).

Some tasks that you can do for them could be – running errands, washing the dishes or clothes, cooking food for them, and so on.

5. Receiving Gifts

Giving gifts has always been a way of expressing your affection and appreciation for someone. People whose love language is receiving gifts feel appreciated when they receive a gift from their loved ones.

These gifts don’t necessarily have to be expensive, it’s the thought that counts. People with receiving gifts as a love language remember and appreciate all the gifts they receive, no matter how big or small.

Express your love with Leher

Engage in conversations, host rooms, build your network and earn with Leher. Leher can help you engage in conversations and spend quality time with people you like. You can also redeem Leher coins and earn on Leher (and save up for all those gifts maybe?)